Pembroke Cricket Club crowned inaugural champion of the Women’s Clear Currency All-Ireland T20 Cup

© Sportsfile)

Pembroke Cricket Club crowned inaugural champion of the Women's Clear Currency All-Ireland T20 Cup

Pembroke Cricket Club crowned inaugural champion of the Women’s Clear Currency All-Ireland T20 Cup

© Sportsfile)

Pembroke Cricket Club were crowned inaugural champions of the Women’s Clear Currency All-Ireland T20 Cup after a dominant 9-wicket victory over hosts Bready Cricket Club today.

Captain Mary Waldron led the team home with a professional display scoring 22 * ​​on 23 balls, while her opening partner Louise Little hit the cameo of 19 on 14 balls.

In a game that was reduced to 10 overs-a-side due to earlier rains, Bready’s side posted 50-8 of their 10 overs in wet conditions that were difficult to score freely. As in the semi-final, Bready’s skipper Alana Dalzell led the way with the bat, hitting limits back-to-back at one point – but on the 14th she was tricked by a ball from Mhairi Nichol and Waldron quickly withdrew the deposits to complete the stump removal.

While there were flashes of offensive play from Jemma Rankin and Kathryn Rough, no other Bready hitter could sustain an assault on tight, disciplined bowling from Pembroke, who had 5 current or former internationals in his XI. .

Realizing that low chases in such conditions can be tricky, Waldron and Little got down to scoring quickly – their opening 32-point stand came from just 23 balls and featured a whopping six hit by Little for too long. .

Little was the only wicket to drop – thanks to a quick thinking behind Amy Campbell’s stumps that saw Little grabbed out of her crease – but the seemingly inevitable result came a few overs later when Waldron hit a four and a two. to register a 9 -Wicket win by his Dublin-based team.

Louise Little took home player of the match honors and Pembroke was crowned winner of the inaugural Clear Currency All-Ireland T20 Cup for 2021.

Semi final

In the semi-finals earlier today, hosts Bready claimed a thrilling 11-point (DLS) victory over the more sophisticated CSNI team Belfast, led by star captain Alana Dalzell.

Dalzell carried his bat through Bready’s innings, finishing 47 * on 66 balls, looking in good form on tricky ground which only saw another of his batting partners hit the double. She propelled three limits through a wet outfield, but more importantly, she held her side together through several tough rain stoppages and a mid-order collapse that saw Bready lose 4-6 in the span of two overs.

Kathryn Rough (14) was the only other Bready hitter who appeared to master the slow pitch – and after 20 overs, the home team finished in what looked like a competitive 105-8.

The CSNI started out the way they wouldn’t have wanted, losing skipper Rachael Thomas for 0 on the second ball, but then the rains returned for a long period which eventually saw eight overs lost, with a DLS goal. revised from 74 announced. After a first surge of Ali Cowan (18 out of 16 balls), the wickets began to tumble – not helped in the chase by three outings.

Dalzell then came out on top with the ball winning 2-8 over two overs as her side Bready edged closer to an unexpected victory.

A remarkable bowling cameo at the end saw 11-year-old Mansie Bhavsar give the ball to death and finish with 2-1 on his single, showing immense calm and maturity with the NSCI pushing for a late victory.

The viral moment

A moment of humor towards the end of the match got really ‘viral’ online when a dog escaped its owner into the crowd, ran onto the field and, well – see below. The video was viewed over half a million times on Twitter alone when it was released.


Bready v CSNI, All-Ireland T20 Cup Semi-Final, Bready, September 11, 2021

breaded 105-8 (20 overs; A Dalzell 47 *; J Gillan 2-16)

CSIN 63-9 (12 overs DLS; A Cowan 18; M Bhavsar 2-1, A Dalzell 2-8)

Bready won by 11 runs (DLS)

View full scorecard

Bready v Pembroke, All-Ireland T20 Cup Final, Bready, September 11, 2021

breaded 50-8 (10 overs; A Dalzell 14; C Tucker 2-11, A Beale 2-19)

Pembroke 51-1 (6.3 overs; M Waldron 22 *, L Little 19; A Dalzell 1-12)

Pembroke won by 9 wickets (DLS)

View full scorecard

About The Author

Related Posts